3/23/24 - Teachers and Parents - Access the ad-free, full-content, unlimited students, plus much more MrNussbaum.com when you subscribe. Click "Sign up" in the upper right corner to start. Join thousands of teachers and parents and countless students who now enjoy the site with no distractions, tons more content and way more options! Only $29 per year.


Remove ad

This page tells all about the Senate. It is part of our United States Government series.

The United States Senate

How Many Senators Are There?

The U.S. Senate is the upper house of Congress. Unlike the House of Representatives, the Senate consists of two senators for each state, regardless of that state's population. This ensures equal representation for each state. Hence, there are 100 Senators.

Senate Terms

Senators serve six-year terms, however, senate elections are held every two years to ensure that no state ever holds an election in which both Senate seats are in contention. Elections are held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November in even-numbered years. Senators must be thirty years of age, a citizen of the United States for the prior nine years, and must live in the state they seek to represent.

Works in Committees

Much of the work done in the Senate is performed in committees. 16 standing committees, each with a specific jurisdiction (such as foreign relations, judicial review, or finance) edit, amend, and consider bills related to those jurisdictions.

Exclusive Powers of the Senate

Powers exclusive to the Senate include the approval of treaties as a condition to their ratification, and the approval of federal judges and cabinet members as a condition of their appointment. The Senate also tries impeachments.

United States Government Navigation

Executive Branch


Legislative Branch

House of Representatives

Judicial Branch

Supreme Court
U.S. Court of Appeals
U.S. District Courts

Executive Department Heads

Secretary of Agriculture
Secretary of Commerce
Secretary of Defense
Secretary of Education
Secretary of Energy
Secretary of Health and Human Services
Secretary of Homeland Security
Secretary of Housing and Urban Development
Secretary of the Interior
Attorney General
Secretary of Labor
Secretary of State
Secretary of Transportation
Secretary of the Treasury
Secretary of Veterans Affairs

Government Structure


Remove ad

Related activities


Remove ad