loud speaker

11-24-23 - Teachers and Parents, please join our new MrNussbaum Facebook group. Here, you will find contests, giveaways, new content announcements, daily or weekly activity suggestions, discussions, and much more! Right now, there is a new code for 75 percent off an annual subscription to MrN 365!

arrow up
Home > History > President 20 - James A. Garfield Biography - Presidents Series

President 20 - James A. Garfield Biography - Presidents Series

This is a full biography on James A. Garfield. It is part of our presidents series.
James A. Garfield

James A. Garfield

20th President

College President

James A. Garfield was born on November 19, 1831, in Orange Township, Ohio. Garfield was raised by his mother as his father died when he was 17 months old. In 1851, he enrolled in Hiram College in Hiram, Ohio, before transferring to Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts. At Williams, James became a member of the Delta Upsilon fraternity. In 1856, Garfield returned to Hiram College as a professor of classical languages. Just one year later, in 1857, he was made president of the college.

The Switch to Law and Politics

On November 11, 1858, he married Lucretia Rudolph. Together, they would have seven children. James soon discovered, however, that he was more suited to politics and the study of law than academia. In 1859, he was elected as state senator of Ohio and was admitted to the Ohio bar in 1860.

In the Civil War

During the Civil War, Garfield served under several generals and saw action at the Battle of Shiloh in Tennessee and Siege at Corinth (Mississippi). He served as the chief of staff under General William Rosecrans' Army of the Cumberland. He would eventually be promoted to major general but left the Army to serve in the House of Representatives. James would be reelected as an Ohio representative every two years for 18 years.

The Morey Letter

In 1880, Garfield's political career was damaged by controversies surrounding the publication of the Morey letter. The Morey letter was allegedly a letter written by James Garfield indicating that he favored an increase in Chinese immigration. At the time, increased Chinese immigration was very unpopular among politicians, and Garfield failed to confirm or deny the allegations because he could not remember if he wrote it. Nevertheless, at the Republican National Convention in 1880, Garfield gained support of his party and was nominated for president. He would defeat the Democratic candidate, Winfield Scott Hancock, to become the nation'ss twentieth president.

President and Assassination

Unfortunately, Garfield had little time to accomplish anything as president. On July 2, 1881, just under four months into his presidency, he was shot in Washington, DC, by Charles J. Guiteau, an attorney who was angry because he was denied a federal job. Guiteau would later be convicted and executed for assassination. Although Garfield was not killed immediately, he slowly deteriorated over a period of several months. He died on September 19, 1881, of complications from his wounds. Some historians believe he would have survived if his medical team would have been more capable. Many believe the infections that ultimately caused his death were inadvertently introduced to his body by his own doctors. He was only 49 years old.

James A. Garfield Stamp

United States Presidents

 1. George Washington  16. Abraham Lincoln  32. Franklin D. Roosevelt
 2. John Adams  17. Andrew Johnson  33. Harry S. Truman
 3. Thomas Jefferson  18. Ulysses S. Grant  34. Dwight D. Eisenhower 
 4. James Madison  19. Rutherford B. Hayes  35. John F. Kennedy
 5. James Monroe  20. James A. Garfield  36. Lyndon B. Johnson
 6. John Quincy Adams  21. Chester A. Arthur  37. Richard Nixon
 7. Andrew Jackson  22/24. Grover Cleveland  38. Gerald R. Ford
 8. Martin Van Buren  23. Benjamin Harrison  39. Jimmy Carter
 9. William Henry Harrison  25. William McKinley  40. Ronald Reagan
10. John Tyler  26. Theodore Roosevelt  41. George H.W. Bush
11. James K. Polk  27. William Howard Taft  42. Bill Clinton
12. Zachary Taylor  28. Woodrow Wilson  43. George W. Bush
13. Millard Fillmore  29. Warren G. Harding  44. Barack Obama
14. Franklin Pierce  30. Calvin Coolidge  45. Donald J. Trump
15. James Buchanan  31. Herbert Hoover  


Upgrade to MrN 365 to access our entire library of incredible educational resources and teacher tools in an ad-free environment. If you like MrNussbaum.com, you will LOVE MrN 365!

Learn More